After the USSR and, consequently, the"Radiation Physics of Solids" Research Board  broke down in 1989, Seminars were no longer organized till 1993 when it became obvious that a special body is essential to coordinate scientific activities in the area of radiation physics, since its fundamental challenges still continued to exist. So in 1993, a "Radiation Physics of Solids" Research Board resumed its activities in the Russian Academy of Sciences on the initiative and under the guidance of B. N. Goshchitsky, RAS Corresponding Member. Naturally organization of a dedicated workshop to discuss recent research results and key issues of solid-state physics was the top-priority task of this Board. From 1994 through 2003, V.F. Khokhryakov represented VNIITF in the "Radiation Physics of Solids" Research Board and acted as a permanent Vice-Chairman of the workshop’s organizing committee.

Currently the Workshop is held by two institutes, RFNC-VNIITF and Institute of Metal Physics (Ekaterinburg, Ural Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences), and  the Organizing Committee is chaired by Evgeny Avrorin, RAS Member, and Boris Goshchitsky, RAS Corresponding Member, respectively. The biannual one-week Seminar is  traditionally held in February at the “Dalnyaya Dacha” health resort near Kyshtym, Chelyabinsk region. Duration of the Seminar is about one week.  Topics discussed at the latest 10-th Workshop included:

  • General problems of radiation damage physics;
  • Materials for nuclear and thermonuclear power engineering;
  • Advanced materials exploration with neutrons, X-ray and bulk measurements;
  • Radiation effects in magnets, superconductors, semiconductors and insulators;
  • Radiation technologies in development of materials with preset properties;
  • Facilities and techniques of experiment

A “Newbies’ school”, a forum for young scientists and engineers reporting their first results, also works in all these fields.
Scientists and engineers from Russian academic and industry communities take part in the Workshops as well as researchers from Europe and the USA.